We Need Each Other

Though it seems like it just began yesterday, this year marks the 11th year that I will have been involved in Student Ministry.

I am acutely aware that I am becoming older, or seasoned as they say. I am acutely aware that there is a whole new generation of Student Pastors that are coming onto the scene right now.

And that excites me.

I wanted to write this post to 2 entirely separate groups of people. But rather than writing 2 posts, I’ll just put it all in the same one and you can just scroll to the section that applies to you.

The first group I wanted to talk to are those that are under 25 or are new to Student Ministry.

Under 25’s or new to Student Ministry

I believe in you. I believe that you are going to do incredible things to advance Student Ministry in this world. I believe that your successes will far outweigh the successes of my generation of Youth Workers. And it is my hope and my prayer that you are able to accomplish far more than I ever will for the Kingdom of God.

You have a unique opportunity in that there are so many resources available to you. The generation that you will serve are hungry for the gospel truth unlike any generation before them. Teach them truth. Teach them what it means to have their ow relationship with God. Be real with them. Show them the way, don’t just tell them the way.

But in the process of leading your Student Ministry, don’t neglect the wisdom of those that are older than you and have more experience than you do. Don’t miss the incredible chance you have to learn and grow yourself through allowing an older Student Pastor to mentor you and help you. You don’t have all of the answers and neither does the older generation of Youth Workers individually, but together we do have the answers. Lets work together.

I believe in you and have no doubt in my mind that you will see the incredible things of God and will do incredible things FOR God as you lead the next generations of Students.

Now, skip down to the header that says “Both Groups”

Over 25 or experienced in Student Ministry

I believe that you are just about to hit the stride of your ability in Student Ministry. I believe that your best days are ahead of you. I believe in you too.

We are ultimately where we are as experienced Youth Workers because of the people in the generation before us that invested in us. It’s up to us now to invest in the next generation of Youth Workers. It is up to us to insure that the next generation is afforded the same assistance by us as we were given when we started in Student Ministry.

Don’t be intimidated by the next generation. Pray that they will pass you in what they will accomplish. Believe in them. Help them. Mentor them. And show them how to lead successfully. Don’t just berate them and tell them what to do, show them how to lead. Give them the same opportunities that you had.

Investing in them is the best thing that you will ever do as a Youth Pastor.

Both Groups

We need each other. Newer Student Pastors, we need your energy and raw faith. Experienced Student Pastors, we need your experience and your wisdom.

We need each other. We need to seek each other out. New Youth Workers, find an older Youth Worker than can help you along the way to becoming the Youth Worker God has called you to be. Older Student Pastors, find a younger Student Pastor that you can invest in and mentor the way that you were.

We need each other. And it is up to us to insure that Student Ministry as a whole continues to grow and progress to reach more and more students with the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

More than ever, we need each other.

PS- This can be a difficult tension sometimes between the older and younger generations of Youth Workers. And while I am on the line between the two, I have learned that investing in the next generation and learning from the previous generations are keys to being successful in Student Ministry. Younger generation, seek out an older Youth Worker that you can learn from. And if you can’t find anyone to mentor you, I will gladly do it.

Younger Generation, We believe in you.
Older Generation, Invest in the next group of World Changers.

We Need Each Other.

  1. #1 by Brandon Miraflor on March 3, 2011 - 11:57 am

    This is a Great Post. What a word of encouragement…

Leave a comment